Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Massachusetts District Office  

u s small business administration


How to Submit a Winning SBA
Small Business Week Awards Nomination Package


Wednesday, November 16th / 12:00pm – 1:00pm


(MS Teams Virtual Meeting)

Nominate a small business YOU LOVE or nominate YOURSELF if you have an amazing story to share! 



In this workshop, Norman Eng, Public Affairs Specialist, for the SBA Massachusetts District Office will provide an overview of the SBA’s National Small Business Week Awards and share what it takes to submit a winning nomination package.

We will share ideas on how to answer some of the questions and review all of the required forms needed in order to be considered a complete package.

You will also see examples of winning packages from previous years and get your questions answered about the process. For complete details check out the Massachusetts District Office NSBW Awards Memo.

Questions? Contact: Norman.Eng@sba.gov

Massachusetts District Small Business Week Categories:

  • Small Business Person of the Year (National and District)
  • Small Business Exporter (National and District)
  • Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Small Business of the Year
  • Minority Small Business Owner
  • Veteran Small Business Owner
  • Women Small Business Owner
  • Microenterprise
  • Young Entrepreneur
  • Small Business Manufacturer
  • Homebased Business Owner
  • Financial Services Champion

The Massachusetts District Office must receive all nominations by electronic submission ONLY no later 3:00 p.m. Eastern Time on December 8, 2022.

RECAP: 2022 Massachusetts Small Business Week Awards Ceremony Breakfast at the Newton Marriott 

Keynote Speaker: Dave McGillivray, President & Founder, DMSE Sports



Massachusetts Small Business Person of the Year & National Runner-up
Greg Acerra, Fireking Baking Company – Braintree, MA

Exporter of the Year
Andrew Sullivan, The Protectowire Company – Pembroke, MA

Financial Services Champion of the Year
(MA & New England)
Kathleen Kelly, Webster Bank – Boston, MA

Minority Owned Business of the Year
Gauri Bhalakia, ARCpoint Labs – Southboro, MA

Veteran Owned Business of the Year
Brian LaFauci, WON Sports – Seekonk, MA

Woman Owned Business of the Year
Karen Collins, Bisousweet Confections – Shirley, MA

Home-based Business of the Year
(MA & New England)
Jeanette Towles, Synterex – Dedham, MA

Family Owned Business of the Year
Eric Busenburg, Euro-American Worldwide Logistics – Worcester, MA

Young Entrepreneur of the Year
(MA & New England)
David Zamarin, DetraPel – Framingham, MA

Small Manufacturer of the Year
Devin Brown, J&J Machine Co. – Marlborough, MA

Microenterprise of the Year
Anand Mahurkar, Findability Sciences – Boston, MA

New England Region Prime Contractor of the Year
Doreen Blades, US ECO Products Corp. – Haverhill, MA

District Director’s Award
Georgianna Parkin, MSBDC State Director

SBDC Excellence and Innovation Center Award
MSBDC Government Sales Advisory Program
Sandra Ledbetter and Dan Lilly